Depeche Mode’s ‘Personal Jesus’ Mixed By Discobar Galaxie

November, 12, 2009 / 0 comments

Belgium’s DJ collective Discobar Galaxie has secured Depeche Mode’s ‘Personal Jesus’ for a mix-tape on the 3CD ‘Inside the Soundsystem’ their 5th mix album set so far. The song has been mixed on CD1 between Millie Smalls’ ‘My Boy Lollipop’ featuring a young Rod Stewart on harmonica and The Timelords’ ‘Doctorin’ The Tardis’. The Timelords were ‘Time Boy’ and ‘Lord Rock’, aliases of Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty, better known as The KLF. The track was actually the first mash-up (10 years before the term was invented) of Gary Glitter, the Doctor Who theme and The Sweet’s Blockbuster. ‘Inside The Soundsystem’ is distributed by EMI Music and is available now.

Discobar Galaxie are DJ Bobby Ewing (Jimmy Dewit), DJ Lars Capaldi (Frank Somers) and DJ Loveboat (Adriaan Van den Hoof). In the early ’90s they started DJing disco-records at parties in Leuven (Belgium). Known for mixing ‘wrong’ music in their sets they so far released 4 mixalbums: ‘In your Space’, ‘Give Space a Chance’, ‘Space Bar’ and ‘The Original Multiplayer Soundsystem’.

Here is the complete tracklist:

CD 1: Inside The Soundsystem
01. Intro
02. Alex Gopher – Handguns
03. Touche – Vampires
04. John Paul Young – Love Is In The Air
05. Laidback Luke – Break The House Down
06. Ida Engberg & David West – The Giant of Niburu
07. Steve Miller Band – Abracadabra
08. Shameboy – Rechoque (Markus Lange remix)
09. Royksopp – This must be it (Thin White Duke remix)
10. Millie Smalls – My Boy Lollipop
11. Depeche Mode – Personal Jesus
12. The Timelords – Doctorin’ The Tardis
13. The Bar Keys – Soul Finger
14. CCCP – Made in Russia
15. Fagget Fairys – Feed the horse (club dub)
16. Roc Master Scott and the Dynamic Three – The Roof is on Fire
17. Electrica Salsa – Off
18. The BBQ Band – On The Beat

CD 2: Night Driving
01. The Zombies – Time of the season
02. The Specials – Ghost Town
03. Chet Baker – I fall in love too easily
04. The Style Council – Long hot summer
05. Marshall Hain – Dancing in the city
06. Simple Minds – Theme For Great Cities
07. Minnie Ripperton – Les Fleurs
08. Fleet Foxes – Blue Ridge Mountains
09. The Walker Brothers – The sun ain’t gonna shine (anymore)
10. The Alan Parsons Project – Don’t Answer Me
11. OMD – Souvenir
12. Fleetwood Mac – Albatross
13. The Floaters – Float on
14. Jan Hammer – Crockett’s theme
15. Roxy Music – Avalon

CD 3: Radiow Instrumentals
01. The Incredible Bongo Band – Bongo Rock
02. André Brasseur – The Kid
03. Sandy Nelson – Let There Be Drums
04. The Shadows – Apache
05. The Mohawks – The Champ
06. Resonance – O.K. Chicago
07. The Peppers – Pepper Box
08. Isaac Hayes Movement – Disco Connection
09. Ramsey Lewis Trio – Wade In The Water
10. Bebu Silvetti – Spring Rain (Lluvia De Primavera)
11. The Love Unlimited Orchestra – Love Theme
12. Cliff Nobles & Co – The Horse
13. Percy Faith – Crunchy Granola Suite
14. Mezzoforte – Garden Party
15. Bert Kaempfert And His Orchestra – A Swingin’ Safari

Source: Side-Line